Diabetes and Simvastatin


This is a continuation of my story about Simvastatin (part 9).

image

My cousin told me her physician was very upset because she stopped taking Simvastatin after a blood test showed diabetes level glucose readings for the first time in her health history. The doctor asked her, “Well wouldn’t you rather have diabetes (type 2) than high cholesterol and risk a heart attack?  Hmmmm …. Tough call or is it?

My glucose readings have been well controlled with diet, exercise, and minimal meds since it became a medical concern 5 years ago … until lately.   I’ve been puzzled by fasting numbers being in the mid 100s until I read the research on Simvastatin side-effects.  Of course I must remember I haven’t been able to exercise because I’ve barely been able to walk for goodness sake   Which comes first … the proverbial question?!?  I am mentioning it though in case someone who has never had those elevated numbers (like my cousin) might notice an increase and want to have a conversation with an MD about it.

TBC and here’s something worth noting …

From mayoclinic.org

Increased blood sugar or type 2 diabetes
It’s possible your blood sugar (blood glucose) level may increase when you take a statin, which may lead to developing type 2 diabetes. The risk is small but important enough that the Food and Drug Administration (FDA) has issued a warning on statin labels regarding blood glucose levels and diabetes. Talk to your doctor if you have concerns.

Leave a Reply

