Greek Festival


souflaki pastitsio dolmades loukoumades

 

Yep … these are just a FEW of the delicious foods I ate this weekend at the annual Greek Festival.  Every Greek Orthodox Church has a festival once a year, and ours rates amongst the top of the best or so I think!  I always try to enjoy the foods I don’t cook often and have fun fooling myself into believing I am eating my YiaYia’s cooking.  I’ve been doing these festivals since I was a very young girl growing up in Chicago and always told my friends that the calories don’t count if you are a Xeni.  Me, however … I won’t get on the scale for a few days at best!

The festival closed at 3:00 and I did not bring food home with me.  I actually felt hunger pangs around 6:00 … oh no … what am I going to do!?!?!  And then I started craving my VI Protein Crunch Cereal of all things.  So … I put together a nice bowl mixed with banana and chocolate coconut granola and voila … ahhhh … taste buds satisfied once again!

So until next year … STEEN IYIA MAS and OPA!

 

Leave a Reply

